Skip to main content

CEDA is excited to announce Johanna Wood and Alison Quigan will be joining as new members of Te Aho Tāmaka in the new year.

Te Aho Tāmaka Manawatū Leaders programme is a CEDA led initiative and first of its kind in New Zealand. It celebrates Manawatū’s most accomplished leaders recognised for making a difference in New Zealand and globally, are proud of their connection to Manawatū and are creating a legacy through their work.

Johanna Wood joins the programme having lived in Manawatū for most of her adult life, studying at Massey University and running a dairy farm with her husband at Hiwinui. Johanna’s passion is Football which has held a prominent role in her life both personally and professionally. Johanna joined the Oceania FIFA Council in 2019 and is currently president of the New Zealand Football, having served as chair of the Central Football Federation since 2010. was also recognised for her remarkable leadership through the campaign to secure the FIFA Women’s World Cup to Zealand and Australia in 2023, an event that promises to be one of the largest sporting events ever hosted in New Zealand.

From the arts sector CEDA welcomes Alison Quigan who grew up in Palmerston North. Acting, writing, and directing has been a lifelong journey for Alison spanning more than 38 years, with many recognising her for her seven-year role as Shortland Street receptionist Yvonne Jeffries up until 2011. Quigan made her mark on hometown Palmerston North as the Artistic Director of Centrepoint Theatre for 18 years from 1986 to 2004, and in 2001 was awarded the Queen’s Service Med (QSM) for her services to theatre.

CEDA Chairman Malcom Bailey says these two leaders are great role models for the region and is excited to officially welcome them onto the programme come 2022 with the date still to be decided.

“Te Aho Tāmaka is a kaupapa that covers a diverse variety of sectors and strengths and the addition of Johanna and Alison to the group reflects the strong talent connected to our region.” says Bailey.

“Leaders can provide inspiration and guidance through their expertise and passion, and we look forward to working with them both to inspire and influence our communities”, adds Bailey.

Wood and Quigan join the ranks of high achieving individuals such as former Black Ferns Captain Dr Farah Palmer, former Senior Cabinet Minister Hon Steve Maharey, Global Entrepreneur Linda Jenkinson, former All Black Captain David Kirk, artists Paul and Fran Dibble, Sir David Moxon and more.

Established in 2018, Te Aho Tāmaka Manawatū Leaders programme is the first of its kind in New Zealand and now includes 14 highly accomplished leaders across diverse fields of business, sport, the Arts, the public sector, theology, and academia.

For more information on Te Aho Tāmaka Manawatū Leaders programme please click here.

For more information:
[email protected]
06 350 1830

Ō Mātou Kaihāpai | Our Supporters

We’re a well connected team and couldn’t make such great things happen without our supporters.